The Great Escape – Part Four

Standard

We were originally bound by love.

That’s what holds us together

So our parts don’t just go flying.

Without love,

All our molecules and atoms would just scatter.

Ego only holds our personalities together, not the rest of us.

That’s what happens to all of us in the end

Because our bodies are all just temporary,

On loan so to speak.

But love never really dies, not really.

It doesn’t really need a body to exist.

It transcends death.

We were sitting together on a rock outcroping by a river. We talking, I don’t what about, that’s not important. She was so pretty. I looked away from her for just a second and when I looked back, she was gone. Just like that. Swept away.

I was terrified! I didn’t know what to do. I ran down the river looking for her. I was sure she must be dead. Mary! Mary! This was before I met my wife Cherie.

She got to shore about a half a mile down stream. She wasn’t hurt. We found each other running towards one another along the bank frantically calling each other’s names. We hugged each other so tightly I thought we would burst. I never wanted to let her go. I didn’t think I could live without her.

She died two months later in L.A. of a heroin overdose.

She had escaped.

That was in 1969.

That’s when I discovered reality can be easily unraveled. It’s so fragile, and not stable at all. It can’t be without our help. It’s like a myth that doesn’t exist unless we believe it does. It’s like that string that closes a feed bag. You pull on it and the bag opens, just like that. Open. The myth of reality is not constant. It’s always changing. We can make it what we want it to be and we can’t do anything about it. Oddly, that’s not really a contradiction. It just is.

A world full of hate and bitterness or a world full of love, it’s our choice.

Hey, we were hippies. That’s what we thought. That’s what it was all about.

Try not to forget this time.

Ah! Ah!. Ah!

……To be continued.

Leave a Reply

